You are here: School Information » Curriculum » English


Teaching Staff

Subject Leader
Maria Gomez
2nd in Department
Patrick Donoghue

Abi Cobb
David Cockcroft
Andria Hanham
Emma Jefford
Elizabeth Lloyd
Samantha Mock
Tony Rogerson
Andrew Scott


(KS3 Curriculum information published January 2016 and is subject to change)

Key Stage 3 - Years 7, 8 (and 9)

In English lessons at Key Stage 3, our aim is to promote high standards of language and literacy by equipping students with a strong command of the spoken and written word, and to develop their love of literature through widespread reading for enjoyment.

Reading at Key Stage 3 is wide, varied and challenging. Students are expected to read a range of fiction and non-fiction, including in particular whole books, short stories, poems and plays with a wide coverage of genres, historical periods, forms and authors. Students are taught to read critically and explore how language, including figurative language, vocabulary choice, grammar, text structure and organisational features, conveys meaning.

Students consolidate and build on their knowledge of grammar, punctuation and vocabulary in writing, refining their drafting skills and developing resilience to write at length. They are taught to write for a variety of purposes and audiences across a range of contexts. Students also have the opportunity to write formal and academic essays as well as writing imaginatively.

Students are encouraged to use standard English confidently in a range of formal and informal contexts, including classroom discussion. They have the opportunity to deliver short speeches and presentations, expressing their own ideas and listening to their peers’ ones.

(KS4 Curriculum information published March 2017 and is subject to change)

Key Stage 4 - Years  (9), 10 and 11

From September 2016 students have studied the new AQA Syllabus for both English language and English literature.

Year 8 Pack - English Language and English Literature GCSE
Year 9 Pack - English Language and English Literature GCSE

(KS5 Curriculum information published December 2016 and is subject to change)

Key Stage 5 - Years 12 and 13 (Sixth Form)

We are currently offering English Language and English Literature.

English language and literature are highly regarded A levels which are accepted as entry to university in a wide range of courses such as linguistics or journalism but also law and the humanities.

Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy