You are here: School Information » Curriculum » Computing


Teaching Staff

Subject Leader
Denise Williams

Georgina McGowan
Shereen Pennicooke
Jason Williams


(KS3 Curriculum information published January 2016 and is subject to change)

Key Stage 3 - Years 7, 8 (and 9)

In Year 7, Computing becomes a discrete subject for students; which is focused on four key areas of information, Technology: Technical Understanding: Creative discovery: Ethical Usage and Legal Applications. Computing is the exploration of these four areas through projects, which also allow students to apply work-ready skills such as office software use, website design, desktop publishing and coding. By Year 9, students are ready for the world of work and are encouraged to explore higher concepts of Computing. Every aspect of Key Stage 3 Computing is designed to prepare students for Key Stage 4 even if they do not choose computing as their option. We encourage students to be curious, tenacious and to explore their ideas.

(KS4 Curriculum information published March 2017 and is subject to change)

Key Stage 4 - Years (9), 10 and 11

Computing became a compulsory core subject for all students from September 2016.  Students will be able to study one of the two qualifications based on their end of Key Stage 3 results in computing and their computing aptitude.  Their suitability for each qualification will be assessed by the end of Key Stage 3.

Computer Science GCSE

Information and Creative Technology BTEC

(KS5 Curriculum information published December 2016 and is subject to change)

Key Stage 5 - Years 12 and 13 (Sixth Form)

BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate

The Level 3 BTEC qualification is a course designed with the technical person in mind.

BTEC Full Details

A Level Computer Science

The A level in Computer Science is a course designed with the computer specialist in mind.

A Level Full Details

Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy